Navigating the world of vegetarianism can be confusing. There are so many different types of vegetarians out there. Which makes it hard to try to figure out what your recently-converted vegetarian friend can and can’t eat. Or maybe you’re thinking about becoming a vegetarian yourself, but you’re not sure where to start. In that case, take a look at the list below.
I’ve mapped out the top eight most common types of vegetarians. The list starts with the most lenient category and transitions to the most strict.
Types of vegetarians
- Flexatarian or Semi-Vegetarians are newer terms. These diets can include chicken, fish or even red meat on occasion, but generally follow a plant-based diet.
- Lacto–ovo vegetarian diets exclude meat, fish and poultry, but allow dairy products and eggs.
- Lacto-vegetarian diets exclude meat, fish, poultry and eggs, as well as foods that contain them. Dairy products – such as milk, cheese, yogurt and butter – are included.
- Ovo-vegetarian diets exclude meat, poultry, seafood and dairy products, but allow eggs.
- Vegan diets exclude meat, poultry, fish, eggs and dairy products – and foods that contain these products.
- Macrobiotic diets are plant-based, and feature grains, vegetables, and legumes with fewer fruits, nuts, and seeds.
- Fruitarians eat fruits, nuts, and seeds. They usually avoid grains, legumes, and vegetables that are not the fruit of the plant.
- Raw food diets are often plant-based. Uncooked and unprocessed foods are the basis of a raw food diet.
These are just the most common types of vegetarians. As time goes on, new and different strains of meatless eaters are popping up. If you’re thinking of becoming a vegetarian, it might be wise to start with the most lenient vegetarian option out there. (That’s a flexitarian, in case you missed it.) That way, you can ease into the lifestyle instead of throwing yourself into the deep end.
If you need help making the transition into vegetarianism, just let me know! I’m here to help you with all your nutrition needs.